There is spit up all over my sock.

And your shirt is stained pink from the amoxicillin that you spit out right out after I gave it to you. You are only taking a nap if you are latched on. The dog smells awful and she just shook dog hair and blanket fragments all over the living room floor.  The laundry is piled up and there are dishes in the sink.

And that is just the sort of day we are having today.

But now…you are finally letting me put you down for the first time today. (I don’t think you’ve been feeling very well). I finally was able to get dressed at 3:00.

I am taking a moment to savor a diet coke and regain perspective.

I still love you, even in the days that are not pretty,

Sandra McCracken sang this beautiful hymn and I :

In every station, new trials and new troubles
Call for more grace than I can afford
Where can I go but to my dear Savior
For mercy that pours from boundless stores.

Grace upon grace, every sin repaired
Every void restored, you will find Him there
In every turning He will prepare you
With grace upon grace.

Grace upon grace to you, little boy. In our beautiful and messy moments the same.

Leave a Reply

