Winter.

I have been meaning to write about winter here, for a while. But you’ve been keeping me busy. Life has been keeping me busy.

The other day we took a drive, you and I, around the lakes. They were completely frozen over, as is to be expected this time of year. There is still probably close to a couple feet of snow on the ground everywhere (it would be more but it has kind of settled down into itself). And I just thought to myself, we are so lucky to live here.

Yesterday, when we woke up it was -15 degrees. The weatherman announced that if you were to be outside for more than ten minutes with skin exposed, you would get frostbite.

I never would have imagined I would say this, but I love winter here. It is so uniquely cold, and yet the people that live in the Upper Midwest are so uniquely brave with it. Negative temperatures do not stop people from walking their dogs. Snowstorms and ice don’t stop them from biking to work. There’s broomball, pond hockey, cross-country skiing, snow-shoeing, ice-fishing…

I hope that even if we don’t live here all your life, you remember it.

We bundle you up in layers upon layers when we go out.

Leave a Reply

