Someday, when you are looking back on childhood, you  won’t remember this day. But I will. How you realized you had a tongue, and stuck in out between smiles.

I will remember getting you ready for bed taking extra long because we were sitting together in awe. You were in awe of a fish toy. I was in awe of you. You were sitting without help, growing up before my very eyes.

I was thinking how being a parent is pretty miraculous…to watch this tiny person grow and develop. To fall in love over and over again.

When you were still wide awake after eating, I brought you into our room. You, your dad and I sitting side by side on the bed, reading through somewhere around six books together. The three of us laughing together and your dad talking about how amazing it is too make you smile.

Yeah, I will remember nights like tonight.

Leave a Reply

