Dear Judah,

This is such a fun age with you…and an exhausting one. Every time your dad travels I gain a deeper respect for single moms.

It seems you and I have this odd partnership. While I’m trying to clean up one mess, you are making one of infinitely larger proportions.

Take this example from about 20 minutes ago. I was trying to clean up our lunch mess, and you were watching an episode of the Backyardigans… or so I thought. I heard a little banging but didn’t think much of it.

After I finished in the kitchen I came to find you, standing on the couch holding the houseplant which you had been working hard at removing from it’s container. Dirt. Was. Everywhere. On the couch, on the floor, on the windowsill.

So, I started this new clean-up project you had created for me while you were washing your hands (which is luckily a favorite game). You came into the living room with dripping hands several times, but at least you were busy.

Oh blessed naptime…you couldn’t have timed yourself better.

Leave a Reply

