Sometimes, I am amazed by the never-ending work of motherhood or by the day-to-day routines and I really look forward to a break…

But other times, like tonight, I am completely overwhelmed by the gift of motherhood. Judah woke up crying (which is a rarity these days) and needed a snuggle tonight. Despite my changing lap availability, we’ve figured out how to snuggle. He sits on top of my belly with his little toddler arms wrapped sweetly around my neck. We rocked and rocked tonight, and I listened to him breathe the same breathing that I would wake in the middle of the night to check on when he was first-born.

And I felt baby two roll around in my belly, and it hit me that I was rocking these two, together. So we rocked, the three of us “back and forth, back and forth” (as Judah likes to quote from the book I’ll Love You Forever). And I prayed over these two little loves and praised God for them.

The love and gratitude I have for these two blows me away.  The love that started when we found out we were pregnant with Judah and exploded into fruition that second he was born. The love that grows with him as he grows and changes daily.

The love for Baby 2 is still growing…it’s still in that mysterious stage. But I know that the moment I lay eyes on that little face, I will be head over heals in love all over again. I cannot really imagine how that works. Instead of love dividing into two with a little less for each, it manages to expand and grow. But from every mama I talk to, that seems to be the case.

We were filling out the family calendar in the kitchen the other day and the due date fit on the calendar. It’s coming so fast.

We can’t wait to welcome you, Baby 2.

Leave a Reply

