38 Weeks

Dear Baby 2,

We are at 38 weeks. This is the time that people start asking if you’re there yet, if you’ve had contractions, if you think you’ll have the baby early. This is the time that the midwife starts saying things like “You’re full term. You could go at anytime. We’ll schedule you for next week but could see you anytime before then.” And you don’t really forget for a minute that a baby is on its way.

Or it could be another month.

I’ve started packing our hospital bags, putting your dad in charge of the snacks. We’re still chatting about names but we are nowhere near deciding what to name you.

But you are growing, and I feel your movements all the time. We are still doing our daily exercises, alternating between yoga and a pregnancy workout video day-to-day. We are still chasing your brother and keeping up with the house ok.

I definitely feel more tired everyday, but I realize that tired is here to stay for this phase of life.

I’ve been trying to spend some time everyday preparing for birth. Your dad has a copy of the verses I want to pray through in labor. They’ve been a beautiful thing to meditate on this pregnancy.

From verses to help through the more challenging parts of labor:

Ps. 34:4,5

I sought the Lord, and he answered me and delivered me from all my fears.
Those who look to him are radiant, and their faces shall never be ashamed.

Isaiah 58:11

And the Lord will guide you continually

and satisfy your desire in scorched places

and make your bones strong;

and you shall be like a watered garden,

like a spring of water,

whose waters do not fail.

Isaiah 41:10

So do not fear, for I am with you;

do not be dismayed, for I am your God.

I will strengthen you and help you;

I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Psalm 56:3,4

When I am afraid, I put my trust in you.

In God, whose word I praise–

in God I trust and am not afraid

what can mere mortals do to me?

John 14:27

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

Eph. 6:10

Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power.

To verses that remind me how well God knows you, how intricately he planned you:

Isaiah 46:3,4

Listen to me, O house of Jacob,

all the remnant of the house of Israel,

who have been borne by me from before your birth,

carried from the womb;

even to your old age I am he,

and to gray hairs I will carry you.

I have made, and I will bear;

I will carry and save.

Psalm 139:13-17

For you have formed my inward parts; you have knitted me together in my mother’s womb.

I praise you for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.
Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.

My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth.
Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every on of them, the days that were formed for me,

when as yet there was none of them.
How precious to me are your thoughts, O God! How vast is the sum of them!

Ecc. 11:5

As you do not know the way the spirit comes to the bones in the womb of a woman with child, so you do not know the work of God who makes everything.

Psalm 71:6 From birth I have relied on you; you brought me forth from my mother’s womb. I will ever praise you.

Ps. 22:9, 10

Yet you brought me out of the womb; you made me trust in you even at my mother’s breast. From birth I was cast upon you; from my mother’s womb you have been my God

I feel like I felt at times when I was pregnant with your brother. Like we are strapped into this roller-coaster and climbing the top of the first hill, not sure what is around each bend. There’s excitement and nervousness, a little bit of fear. But we’re strapped in and ready to roll.

Love,

Mom

Leave a Reply

