We have kind of drifted into the new year this year. Once we got home from Missouri with Judah sick, we slowed into our care-taking roles. And one sickness added to another until we were all quite under the weather. Yesterday two of us got on antibiotics for various mixtures of ear/eye/throat infections. Now it remains to be seen if the other two will need antibiotics as well.

When I’m thinking clearly, I realize sickness brings an opportunity to slow down and sometimes the limitations (less energy, more pain, more fussiness,) can help us re-prioritize (or just make us crabby).

It’s been endless wiping of gooey eyes and noses, sleepless nights, coughs, and cries. It’s been washing faces with warm clothes, hydrating little bodies, and wearing more of other people’s snot on my clothes than I ever imagined possible. It’s been comforting little cries in the middle of the night, rocking them back to sleep, only for the other one to wake up moments later.

It’s felt frustrating and exhausting, but mostly it’s felt like being the hands and feet of Jesus inside my own family.

In the midst of this we had New Year’s Eve.

newyearsfaces

(this was our crew on new years. A little sick, but apparently I’m still capable of weird faces and hand gestures while Jason was playing with my new external flash he got me for my camera).

We stayed home (obviously to try to contain our germs), and really the only thing different about our night was drinking a bit of sparkling juice, and talking about the past year. We read through blog posts and thought back on all the changes this year.

-Judah’s growth and development
-Pregnancy and Ruby’s birth
-Feeling more adult than we ever have (and sometimes still feeling like a teenager)
-Nannying (for Kristi)
-Summer and nice weather adventures

Then we were in bed by 9:30, (although I was up with Judah so technically, I was up to celebrate the new year).

sickdays

Last night Judah slept through the night for the first time in a week. So hopefully he is on the mend. But Ruby was up (what seemed like) several times an hour.
bathtime

judah playing

Surprisingly every time I think I am depleted of energy and giving and love, more is ready by the time the next need arrives.

It reminded me of Mother Teresa’s quote: “I have found the paradox, that if you love until it hurts, there can be no more hurt, only love.” 

 

Leave a Reply

