Late Winter Survival Tactics: Baking Soda and Vinegar Activity.

“Welcome to Spring!” Says the calendar.

“Why thank you!” Says winter, who has no thoughts of leaving anytime soon.

So, winter is long here. Long, ice and snow covered. Some days are just too much effort to bundle everyone up and get out. Not to mention that we are running low on indoor places that will be fun to go with a two-year-old and a 7-month-old.

Enter activities. We do these, not because I’m the most incredibly, creative mom in the world. But because I’m a mom who knows her limits. I know that there is only so long that I can “make the fire engine talk” while playing.

1. Fizzy Fun: I saw this online somewhere. I would love to link to the original source…but I don’t remember where it was.

Equipment:
Baking soda
Vinegar
Food coloring
A tray of some kind
A dropper (we used…a nose cleaner? Eh, it was the first thing I found. And I *think* it’s unused).ย 

march21-3

Patience level needed: Not too much. Judah kept himself pretty busy with this for a while. It does get a bit messy, I suppose.

march21

Fill a pan or tray with a thin level of baking soda. Pour a little baking soda into small containers. Add food coloring.

march21-5

Fill the dropper with the vinegar and pour it out onto the baking soda. Get ready for some fizzy fun.ย march21-2

Leave a Reply

