Five Minute Friday: Broken

Joining in again with Lisa-Jo and the group for Five Minute Friday. This week, the subject is “broken.”

 

And how blessed all those in whom you live,
whose lives become roads you travel;
They wind through lonesome valleys, come upon brooks,
discover cool springs and pools brimming with rain!
God-traveled, these roads curve up the mountain, and
at the last turn—Zion! God in full view!
(Ps. 84:5-7 The Message)

They go from strength to strength till each appears before God in Zion.
(Psalm 84:7)

The words above, I have carried with me through the ebbs and flows this week.

I have pondered what “strength to strength” means when you feel sluggish and tired. When you are weeks behind on housework. And when the ever pressing needs of children surround you.

I was in college, untethered and energetic, untested and idealistic, and lovely when I read this for the first time. I imagined my life: moving from success to success, full of strength and vigor. I imagined myself ready for each task and laughing at each trial to come.

But as I carry these God-words in my heart in the midst of wild parental living, I know those pretty ideas are not actually as beautiful as these words lived out.

Because going from strength to strength, is moving through each day pausing and leaning into the strength of God. I move, however imperfect and floundering from moment to moment with the Great Strength of the Universe.

march25-24

I am at my strongest when I fall into Him in brokenness.

And  He that broke and bled for love stands open-armed to catch and carry.

I do laugh at the trials that come. But it’s a smaller, humbler laugh than I imagined. A laugh not from my imagined self-sufficient strength.  But a laugh from a deeply present knowing of the One who is bigger than any trouble.

Everyday, my roots grow deeper into that Great and Glorious love that crashes over me like waves. Into that love that is so deeply ingrained in me that nothing, no nothing can separate.

And a broken state becomes where I do my most real, strong, and beautiful living.

 

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Broken

  1. “And He that broke and bled for love stands open-armed to catch and carry.” That is absolutely beautiful. I love this whole entry, feeling as exhausted as I have recently with my own little one. Such a timely reminder of where my true strength should come from. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

