Five Minute Friday: Here

It’s been a few weeks since I have joined in the fun with Lisa-Jo. I love this chance to sit with a word, and wrap more words around it. Today, Jason is off work which means I have an even more focused time to write and think.

wildchild

“Here” (Begin)

I found it in the pages of the book he requests every night at bedtime. “Read me a story about God.”

And we have been working out way through the Jesus Storybook Bible together. No matter what the day, in its fullness or brokenness, has looked like. I take a deep breath and begin. I pray for patience as his myriad of questions that come tumbling over, around, and in between every word I read.

It’s the same theme, woven into the book of Isaiah, as I read on my own.

That name…Emmanuel. I read it and let it sink deep into the tired places of my soul.

God-with-us. Here.

Here when I pull on a stinky shirt from the floor to begin the day. Here in the midst of a whirling, running two-year old and a baby girl inching forward on her belly. Here when I’m too tired to walk that baby girl to sleep, but I do it anyways.

april12-16

Here in the midst of my impatience, in my own sinful story. Here in moments of such intense love and beauty. Here when a hard-working, tired husband loves and serves.

Circling, surrounding, within and without, the Spirit of God is here. With us.

I can’t take it all in, how He never leaves me. His deep, rich presence walking steady beside me all my days.

He is always here, stitching these moments together into a seamless life under His love.

12 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Here

  1. Love this! We have that same storybook Bible and my kids (age 5, 3, and 19 months) all love it. My oldest, Isaiah, especially loves the chapters about the book of Isaiah because he feels so connected to them. He relishes in the connection of his namesake to the description of the Great Rescuer. Such beautiful, wonderful reminders in this post. Bless you today!

    1. Thanks, Sarah! I really love this Bible. My Judah is 2, so he doesn’t understand it all. But the chapter on Leah where his namesake was mentioned was really cool to read with him. He had a HUGE smile.

  2. Wow! I have been tossing this word around in my head all day long, wondering what will I write for my 5 minutes about “Here.” And, can you believe it? Not once did I remember the “Emmanuel” part of here. Thank you! Also, these pictures — totally make me smile. Big. So glad I followed your link here today. 🙂

  3. We are reading the Jesus Storybook Bible around here, too. I often find myself learning more of a lesson from the simple and profound truth than my own kidlets. I can so relate to having to remind myself that He is Emmanuel – even in my messiest of sinful days/moments.

  4. I like your post. “Emmanuel…let it sink deep into the tired places of my soul.” I love that line. So good…we all need that…God With Us to penetrate those tired places in our souls and lives. Blessings to you!

    1. Maxine, so very true. That might be what I love the most about five minute Fridays. The way that we each interpret that same word is such a beautiful example of how uniquely God has created us, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

