A Prayer

The emotions of this transition time have caught me by surprise. They are so unpredictable (excitement one moment, mourning the next), and so intense.

I don’t think I was expecting it to be easy to leave. I guess I just didn’t know what to expect.

Today, at nap time, I am sitting with some chamomile tea and a prayer that my Spiritual Director sent me from Guerillas of Grace by Ted Loder:

Come, Lord Jesus,

startle me

with your presence, life-sustaining as air,

to open my heart

to praise you,

to open my mind

to attend to you,

to open my spirit

to worship you,

to open me

to live my life

as authentically and boldly as your lived yours.

 

Come, Lord Jesus,

Be with me

in my longing;

come, stay with me

in my needing;

come, go with me

in my doing;

come, struggle with me

in my searching;

come, rejoice with me

in my loving.

 

Come, Lord Jesus, into this time of goodbyes and new beginnings. Come, Lord Jesus.

Leave a Reply

