Grace for the Bad Days

“Where you stumble and fall, there you find pure gold.” Carl Jung

average day-6

average day

Some mornings start out rough. The demands and sibling bickering resound before breakfast even begins.

Those are the days that my patience is short and I’m a little edgy.

average day-9

average day-10

It has taken me a long time to reach a point of grace for myself during these challenging days. I want to judge myself, and hold up this made up image I have in my head of what the imaginary “perfect mom’s” day would look like.

But that doesn’t help.

Lately, I have started to grasp that if “there is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus,” than I don’t need to hold that judgement over myself either.

average day-8

If my tone gets sharp with one of the kids, I don’t have to beat myself up for it. I can apologize to them, apologize to God, and accept the depth of my need for grace.

Living out that grace towards myself has been stepping into a freedom I didn’t know I was missing.

Leave a Reply

