Faith, Art, and the Study of Water

Art, like faith, develops your eyes to see things more clearly.

When I was a kid, I remember looking at a tree, and deciding that it was green. I remember being so disappointed after the drawing was finished. Though they both had green, I had yet to learn how to really see what was going on in the tree leaves.

For one, there are so many shades, shadows, and reflections. It took years of learning before my eyes were trained to see.

This summer, I was painting a few scenic pictures and I realized, I hadn’t yet learned to see water yet. I could look at the water, but the reflections, refractions, shadows, and waves were beyond my comprehension. So I studied others that saw water better than I did.

IMG_3505

And I tried variations of styles and techniques.

IMG_3626

I think that one could spend her entire life, studying and painting just water. Each year, would fold new wrinkles into her brain about the way that water and light react.

I think that is how it is with art. You can learn and practice and always come out knowing that there is so much to learn.

Likewise,Β is relating to the mysteriousness of God. I could spend the rest of my life studying and experiencing the love of God and I would barely begin to see through the eyes of faith.

2 thoughts on “Faith, Art, and the Study of Water

  1. I popped by from Five Minute Friday, but this post caught my eye. I love your paintings here, especially the second! And the metaphor. So blessed to have dropped by!

Leave a Reply

