Wait

We continue to live in this season reflecting on the Great Waiting of humanity.

Before Christ was born, humanity waited for the Savior to come.

Now, those of us who now live after Christ’s resurrection, have the gift of working alongside Him in the world bringing his love and Kingdom. But we still live in waiting. We live in a broken world, with broken relationships, and broken pieces within ourselves. In our cities, we long for healing and justice and we join in the great tradition of active, prayerful waiting.

We wait, because as John said, “Dear friends, now we are children of God, and what we will be has not yet been made known. But we know that when Christ appears, we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is.” (1 John 3:2).

And as Paul said: For we know in part and we prophesy in part, but when the perfect comes, the partial will pass away. . .For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I have been fully known.” (1 Corinthians 13:9-10,12).

We are not alone in our waiting. The following are some of the voices of scripture who waited. I spent  time this afternoon joining those voices in prayer, a few are listed below.

Read through them slowly, prayerfully, as voices of fellow sojourners walking an aching path across history.

Please answer me: Don’t give up. Wait for the Eternal in expectation, and be strong. Again, wait for the Eternal. (Ps. 27:4– The Voice)

If someone dies, will they live again? All the days of my hard service I will wait for my renewal to come. (Job 14:14)

In the morning, Lord, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait expectantly. (Ps. 5:3)

Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord. (Ps. 27:14)

We wait in hope for the Lord; he is our help and our shield. (Ps. 33:20)

Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him; do not fret when people succeed in their ways, when they carry out their wicked schemes. (Ps. 37:7)

Yet the Lord longs to be gracious to you; therefore he will rise up to show you compassion. For the Lord is a God of justice. Blessed are all who wait for him! (Isaiah 30:18)

My righteousness draws near speedily, my salvation is on the way, and my arm will bring justice to the nations. The islands will look to me and wait in hope for my arm. (Isaiah 51:5)

Since ancient times no one has heard, no ear has perceived, no eye has seen any God besides you, who acts on behalf of those who wait for him. (Isaiah 64:4) 

But you must return to your God; maintain love and justice, and wait for your God always. (Micah 12:6) 

Not only so, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for our adoption to sonship, the redemption of our bodies. (Romans 8:23)

 May you be blessed with grace, peace, and a steadfast spirit in your personal waitings, and in our collective waitings. 

One thought on “Wait

  1. My husband used to sing a hymnal based on Psalm 5:3. He learned it from his dad as they had family worship in the mornings. When I see that Psalm, I always think of that little song.

    Beautiful verses that you chose.

Leave a Reply

